Tenth International Accelerator School for Linear Colliders

8 December19 December 2016
KEK and Teijin Academy at Mt. Fuji,
Susono, Shizuoka, Japan

Organised by the Linear Collider Collaboration and the ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel

Hosted by KEK

This school is a continuation of the series of schools started six years ago (2006 in Japan, 2007 in Italy, 2008 in the U.S., 2009 in China, 2010 in Switzerland, 2011 in the U.S., 2012 in India and 2013 in Canada). Based on the needs from the high-energy physics community, the Linear Collider Collaboration (LCC) and ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel will organise an Tenth International Accelerator School for Linear Colliders. The focus of the school will be on TeV-scale linear colliders including the International Linear Collider (ILC), the Compact Linear Collider (CLIC) and other advanced colliders. The target students are graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and junior researchers from around the world. We welcome applications from physicists who are considering changing their career from experimental physics to accelerator physics. This school is adopting an in depth approach. Therefore, former students are welcome to apply if they have a compelling reason to do so. The school will be in lecture style. There will be homework assignments and a final examination, but no university credit will be offered.


  • Overview of TeV-scale future lepton colliders (ILC, CLIC and other advanced colliders)
  • Accelerator physics for sources, damping rings, ring colliders, linacs, beam delivery system, machine-detector interface and detectors
  • Accelerator technology for super conducting and warm RF, LLRF and high power RF, beam instrumentation etc.,

Important notes

  • Maximum number of students is 60.
  • The registration fee is USD 1,200. This includes all local expenses: airport bus, lodging, meals, coffee breaks, Internet, excursion, KEK site visit, school supplies, etc.
  • Financial support for a limited number of students is available.
  • Required qualification to apply: graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, junior researchers.
  • Former students may apply.
  • Online application only.
  • Requirements: registration form, CV, one recommendation letter.
  • Application deadline: September 14, 2016 
    Note that the application deadline has been extended

More information

Organising committee

  • Lyn Evans (CERN, Chair)
  • Alex Chao (SLAC)
  • Hesheng Chen (IHEP)
  • Weiren Chou (ICFA BD Panel)
  • Paul Grannis (Stony Brook Univ.)
  • P D Gupta (RRCAT)
  • Mike Harrison (BNL)
  • In Soo Ko (PAL)
  • Shin-ichi Kurokawa (KEK)
  • Hermann Schmickler (CERN)
  • Steinar Stapnes (CERN)
  • Nobuhiro Terunuma (KEK)
  • Nick Walker (DESY)


Local committee

  • Nobuhiro Terunuma (KEK, Chair)
  • Sakae Araki (KEK)
  • Alexia Augier (CERN)
  • Masafumi Fukuda (KEK)
  • Yoko Hayashi (KEK)
  • Gin Ishikawa (KEK)
  • Michiyo Oka (KEK)
  • Takayuki Saeki (KEK)



You are here